Origin Number Of Books For Old Testament (22 Books)

Most modern versions of the Bible contain 66 books, 39 in the Old Testament and 27 in the New Testament. Originally, the number of books in the Bible was 49. First century Jews believed there were 22 holy books that comprised the complete number of their divine scriptures. But in almost all modern versions it is common to numerate the Old Testament as 39 books. The 39 Old Testament books actually comes from 22 books originally by combining several books into one (e.g., they combine the twelve Minor Prophets into one book). The New Testament has remained at 27 books since early times. A complete list appears below


Old Testament New Testament
I. The Law I. The Gospels and Acts
1. Genesis 1. Matthew
2. Exodus 2. Mark
3. Leviticus 3. Luke
4. Numbers 4. John
5. Deuteronomy 5. Acts
II. The Prophets II. The Epistles of Paul
6. Joshua-Judges 6. Romans
7. Book of Kingdoms (I & II Samuel, I & II Kings, considered one book) 7. I Corinthians
8. Isaiah 8. II Corinthians
9. Jeremiah 9. Galatians
10. Ezekiel 10. Ephesians
11. The Twelve (The “Minor” Prophets, considered one book) 11. Philippians
a) Hosea 12. Colossians
b) Joel 13. I Thessalonians
c) Amos 14. II Thessalonians
d) Obadiah 15. Hebrews
e) Jonah 16. I Timothy
f) Micah 17. II Timothy
g) Nahum 18. Titus
h) Habakkuk 19. Philemon
i) Zephaniah III. General Epistles
j) Haggai 20. James
k) Zechariah 21. I Peter
l) Malachi 22. II Peter
III. The Writings 23. I John
12. Psalms 24. II John
13. Proverbs 25. III John
14. Job 26. Jude
15. Song of Solomon IV. Apocalypse
16. Ruth 27. Revelation
17. Lamentations
18. Ecclesiastes
19. Esther
20. Daniel
21. Ezra-Nehemiah (considered one book)
22. Chronicles (considered one book)
Share With Others
Scroll to Top